losaconnect.blogg.se

Linux vm shared folder
Linux vm shared folder








See also Install Linux Guest Additions for a more detailed explanation.Īfterwards the actual shared folder can be mounted.Ĭreate directory where the data of the shared folder should be, for example: home/user/hostĬorrect notation of the foldernames is important Therefore install kernel-source and kernel-syms regarding this link using zypper: Install Linux Guest Additions sudo zypper install kernel-sourceĪnd open an console/terminal in the mounted folder and install the additions. OpenSuse should not be running inside virtualBox.Īfterwards, System preparations and the Linux Guest Additions for the VirtualBox have to be installed in opensuse. How to use the downloaded opensuse.vdi file with VirtualBox is described here: Importing a VDI in VirtualBox OpenSuse already installed for vmware directly to download available here (1,3GB).I also actually would like to know what's up with this but have no idea where to start.Since I haven't found, after long searching, information regarding "How to set up a Shared Folder using OpenSuse in VirtualBox", I decided to summarize the process in here - hopefully it helps some others. I guess I could create a network share and mount that but I didn't want to do so, I'd rather share files directly using VM, and I shouldn't have to. But I do want to share files between my Windows host and Linux guest so I must apparently do 'something'. "did you compile vmhgfs?" To get this out of the way at the start, no I did not compile anything as far as I'm aware, and have no idea why I would do so.

linux vm shared folder

One thing I've noticed when asking Linux questions is that the responses are often as perplexing as the issue, e.g. I'm an experienced Windows systems engineer so I hate being a total noob. Yes, I'm a Linux noob though I've done things with linux before including building a Vyatta router.

linux vm shared folder

Also about other modules, but the VM share folders is the one I'm interested in at this time. However when I do so I get the same message. It also says that I can install the driver by running again.

linux vm shared folder

I get some messages like "the filesystem driver (vmhgfs module) is used only for the shared folder feature". I then installed VMWare tools, which apparently succeeded, kind of.










Linux vm shared folder